Jordan Wilimovsky, Ashley Twitchell Claim Winnings at 2015 RCP Tiburon Mile

Article Courtesy Swimming World Magazine

This past weekend swimmers flocked to Tiburon, California to take part in the ever-exciting RCP Tiburon Mile. Originally founded in 1999 by Robert Placak, a Tiburon resident, the open water swim across the The Raccoon Strait has grown to be one of the most exciting and competitive open water races around.

35 men and 26 women competed in the Elite category with the top male and female winners claiming a $2500 cash award.

On the men’s side it was Jordan Wilimovsky who took first finishing with an even time of 22:00. Earlier in August Wilimovsky proved just how strong of an open water swimmer he was by winning the men’s 10K at the 2015 FINA World Championships in Kazan, Russia, earning himself a spot in the race at next summer’s Olympic Games in Rio.

Chip Peterson finished second overall with a time of 22:06 and Brendan Casey took third with a final time of 22:18.

Ashley Twitchell and Becca Mann battled for first on the women’s side but Twitchell managed to pull ahead at the end to finish first with a time of 22:40. Mann was second with a 22:41. Keri-Anne Payne of Great Britain rounded out the top three on the women’s side with a time of 22:48.

Comments are closed.